Leaders Both Old And New Take Office At Baltimore County Government Inauguration

Dec 1, 2014

The crowd at today's inauguration of Baltimore County government officials at Towson University's SECU Arena.
Credit John Lee / WYPR

Baltimore County Council added three new members today, as the seven-member board was sworn in before hundreds of people at the SECU Arena at Towson University. County Executive Kevin Kamenetz also took his oath of office for a second term.

In his inaugural address, Kamenetz said inclusion needs to be part of the vision for the county's future. Kamenetz cited cities and nations that are being ripped apart by intolerance and misunderstanding. "Baltimore County must be a place where people with diverse backgrounds and beliefs feel comfortable living together and working together," Kamenetz said. "We must nurture an environment where discourse is passionate, but always civil and constructive."

The County Council is now made up of four Democrats and three Republicans. The GOP picked up a seat in the November election.

-1st District Councilman Tom Quirk is beginning his second term. He is a Democrat and represents Southwest Baltimore County.

-2nd District Councilwoman Vicki Almond is also beginning her second term and is a Democrat. Her district wraps around the Northwest corner of Baltimore City.

-3rd District Councilman Wade Kach represents Northern Baltimore County. He is a Republican and beginning his first term.

-4th District Councilman Julian Jones is also a newcomer to Council. A Democrat, Jones's district is in Western Baltimore County.

-5th District Councilman David Marks is beginning his second term. He is a Republican and represents the Towson area.

-6th District Councilwoman Cathy Bevins is a Democrat and is the current Council Chair. Her district runs from the Northeast city-county line east to the Chesapeake Bay. This is her second term.

-7th District Councilman  Todd Crandell takes over the Dundalk area seat long held by Democrat John Olszewski Sr. Crandell is a Republican.

Others taking the oath of office today included Sheriff R. Jay Fisher, Clerk of Court Julie Ensor, and Judges of the Circuit and Orphans Courts.